Showing posts with label politics. Show all posts
Showing posts with label politics. Show all posts

Saturday, December 28, 2013

The End is Nigh

No, I don't mean that this is the end of days, although it might, we'll find out.  I'm merely stating that the end of the year is but 3 days out.  As we round out 2013, let's take some time to think about all the things that have happened this year.

In politics, we had a bullshit government shutdown.  Shortly after was a shitshow of a software launch in the Affordable Care Act AKA 'Obamacare'.  It honestly reminds me a bit of this.  I won't go too far into why it ended up the way it did.  But looking at it from a computer science background, all I have to say is that it could have easily been implemented for cheaper if it wasn't a government contract.  Hell, it could've been done better if politicians simply didn't have their hands all over it trying to make it fail.  The decision making process surrounding Obamacare just shows how disjointed and abysmal the current administration is.  This doesn't even include the fact that no one in Congress seems to want to agree on anything.  If you asked a vote of what the color of the sky was, invariably you'd get that the Democrats say blue and the Republicans say something like 'Oh but it's red right before nighttime'.

Enough about politics though as it makes me angry.  Moving onto disasters and tragedies.  They haven't ceased.  It's as simple as that.  From shootings to typhoons in the Philippines, they still happen.  While some are directly man-made, the number of natural disasters is nothing to sneeze at.

To start the year I said that 2012 was a jerk.  I have to say now that 2013 wasn't much better.  The more I think about it, I have to think to myself, was 2013 any better than 2012?  Across the board, we repeated the mistakes of last year and many years past.  Did we really move forward a year or is this year the same as last?  I sincerely hope that your year was good.  But for many, many people, this year was the worst possible and to them I hope that 2014 is more kind to you.  And with that this post will end my first year doing this.  I had some ups and downs but I hope you enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed writing.  I hope 2014 turns out better than 2013 but I'd be remiss to say the past years have had a good track record.

--CsMiREK

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Onto greener pastures

They grow up so fast don't they?  I remember just one year ago, 2012 was just a day old.  We learned so much from that chap.  Sorry to see 'im leave just as we were getting to know him.  Quite rude how we rushed him out the door for little 2013.  However, I hope this one's not as much of a jerk as 2012.

Why was he a jerk you say?  Well for starters we had to deal with that sham of an election.  Don't get me wrong, I'm not anti-Obama.  But honestly, the best the GOP could field was Mitt Romney?  I would be more surprised than not if he had won back in November.  In the same ring, what the FUCK was this?  Maybe at some point I'll go into my personal thoughts on why Congress is broken, but for now, that'll be much more entertaining.

Why was he a jerk you say?  Well, a new record was set for the highest amount of money spent at auction for a work of art.  Seriously, $120 million dollars for The Scream by Edvard Munch.  I'm all for fair spending for art, but the original painter's dead now.  The only real reason to buy that painting is for bragging rights.  I suppose the rich are free to do as they please but if that money was split a thousand ways that's still almost three times the average salary in the US.

Gang rape/murder in India, the shooting in a freaking SCHOOL in Newtown, CT, a mass shooting in a theater in Aurora, CO.  Needless to say, it's been a rough year for a bunch of folks.  Don't get me started about the whole "Mayan calendar end of the world" shit.

What angers me most about the majority of these events is that they're purely man made.  Even worse, we have the gall to blame others for these twisted stories.  For example, why blame the gays?  People are people, and while we all choose to label each other this or that, why does blame always end up getting shoved on people who have nothing to do with anything.  I'll leave my rant on religion for later, but for now ask yourselves, why do your pastors and ministers who preach loving and understanding push an agenda of bigotry and insanity?

Peace out, enjoy the next year and keep your minds open. 
There's only one resolution you should have in 2013: Don't be a dick.

--CsMiREK